New Recipe: Sweet Potato Casserole

This dish is so simple: pretty much mix and bake. I usually cook the potatoes in the oven in their own skin and then peel them and throw them in. It’s very simple to do. If you want it even easier, just get the ones that come in the can. By the way, in the U.S. sweet potatoes and yams are interchangeable terms for the same kind of potato. Everywhere else: beware! True yams don’t resemble sweet potatoes in any way. There are two kinds of sweet potatoes: the dark-skinned, orange, sweet kind, perfect for this dish, and the lighter skin, crumbly kind (similar to a regular baking potato). In the U.S., the lighter skinned is called a yam, but it’s a misnomer. Click here to learn more. Now, on with the recipe: Sweet Potato Casserole.

7 thoughts on “New Recipe: Sweet Potato Casserole

  1. I’m in the american south and there is a VAST difference between yams and sweet potatoes. Yams hardly ever find their way to tables here. I enjoy Sweet potatoes year round, really, and adore just baking them and topping them. I really personally hate adding sweet things to sweet potatoes. its so OTT to me. I’m a lover of contrasting flavors, so i have been known to bake mashed sweet potatoes with a savory/buttery bread crumb topping with a bit if chili or dry grated cheese added to the mix. sweet potatoes also like curry and turmeric. keep an eye out for new heirloom sweet potato varieties in blue and purple! they’re yummy as all get out!

    to add to this, butternut squash is a great seasonal addition to your fall lineup. just the other day i took a couple of butternuts, and halved them lengthwise, scooped out the seeds and put them on the grill for about 20 minutes while some sausages grilled. they were nice and charre on the surface, but i scooped them out and fork mashed them with butter and a bit of garlic. HEAVEN, and simple. šŸ™‚

  2. This is a good recipe. If you want something simple or are allergic to nuts, use a bag of miniature marshmallows as a topping. Yumm

    • I told my mom that I cheat on the recipe and stick a few baby marshmallows in the mix before putting it in the pan. šŸ™‚

      But you’re right: this recipe is so simple that it can be tweaked as needed to suit any number of dietary needs and restrictions.

  3. I have been looking for a receipe for the yam (potatoe crumbly one) and you are so correct. all the receipes I can find are for the sweet potatoe. I grew up in the midwest and I know there is a difference in the way you can use them. I would never put brown sugar and marshmellows on a yam that just sounds gross. I will be trying to cut them up in chuncks and using olive oil and lemon pepper and sea salt to season them with. I have friends that are diabetic and I want them to be able to enjoy them with out all the extra sugar (which they can not have to begin with).

    • Yams are difficult. My dad is diabetic too. In a recipe like this most of the sugar would be replaced by Splenda For Baking (they also make a half & half brown sugar), and – of course – moderation when eating. I have the opposite. Because of gastric bypass, whenever I eat things high in sugar I get dumping syndrome, where the sugar enters my body WAY too fast and elevates my blood sugar levels, but then (because I’m otherwise healthy), my own body responds with much more insulin than it should and I crash. So… yeah… Splenda and moderation.

    • You know they are good just baked with cinnamon too. No oil used and no salt. Salt makes you swell and is not good for people with high blood pressure.

What do you think?

