Kindle Faves: A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter

From Amazon.com: A phone call from an old friend sets Dr. Giovanni Vecchio back on the path of a mystery he’d abandoned years before.  He never expected a young librarian could hold the key to the search, nor could he have expected the danger she would attract.  Now he and Beatrice De Novo will follow a twisted maze that leads from
the archives of a university library, through the fires of Renaissance Florence,
and toward a confrontation they never could have predicted.

In the first instalment of her Elemental Mysteries series, Elizabeth Hunter (better known as EtheHunter to us SVM enthusiasts) introduces us to the handsome Giovanni Vecchio, a vampire with the ability to manipulate fire.  He’s drawn back into a mystery that has plagued him for five hundred years.  Beatrice De Novo, a student and part-time librarian at Houston University, seems to hold the key to find a treasure taken from him in the early Renaissance.  The young librarian can help Giovanni find his treasure, he’s sure of it.  But Giovanni isn’t the only one who knows that Beatrice can lead them to the treasure… there is another vampire, lurking in the shadows, ready to do anything to get back what he had rightfully stolen in the first place.

This story is epic, a nice long read great for the coming cold months.  The characters are believable (no Mary Sues here, thank goodness), each with their own strengths and weaknesses.  We learn that Beatrice was a lonely teenager that is now a smart young woman about to graduate from college and start her life.  We learn Giovanni is as complex a character as his age would suggest.  We see their relationship develop from a careful professional distance, to friendship, to the love neither of them will admit they feel for the other.  Can they get over Giovanni’s aloofness to her charms, and Beatrice’s own prejudices about vampires?

The second instalment of the series will be published in December.  This is a paranormal mystery/romance written for adults and you can download it to your Kindle (or Kindle app for your computer or mobile device) for the very modest price of $2.99.  Click here to visit Amazon and download your own copy.

Support your favorite indie authors.  Happy reading!

6 thoughts on “Kindle Faves: A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter

  1. Thanks for the recommendation Mel, I loved the story! I’m really looking forward to the next book in the series. I left her a review on Amazon and I hope she is very successful.

  2. Please don’t laugh..I’m probably the only person on the planet who still likes to read books in their original form. Is she publishing this or is it only available for download? It sounds like a fascinating plot and I would love to read it..thanks for mentioning it.. this may be what pushes me over the edge to buy one of these things…

    • Not laughing. I used to think the same thing: I would never want to read a book in digital format. Nothing beats the feel and even the smell of a book, right? BUT… my hubby got me the Samsung Galaxy tab (which is the size and weight of a hard cover book – maybe slimmer) last Christmas and I went exploring. Amazon sent me an email after I downloaded the Kindle app letting me know of this author’s book for only 99 cents. I thought “what the hay,” and bought it. Couldn’t put it down! For many authors this is the only way they can publish their work because the world of big-time publishing is so petty and iffy. I don’t think Elizabeth is getting this one printed, as far as I know. I realized that maybe reading a digital book by an independent author beat giving my money to a big publishing house.

      By the way, let’s not get started on how expensive Dead Reckoning was for Kindle (still is). One would think the price would be lower, since they don’t have to print, store and ship the darned thing, but no. And THAT is why I’m steering clear of big publishing houses as much as I can. I rather give my money directly to the author – minus the percentage that Amazon takes for hosting the book, of course.

      Don’t buy anything, yet! Go to Amazon and download the application onto your regular computer, and try out a book or two, see how you like it. Obviously if you can carry your book around in your purse (like I do with my tab), you’ll enjoy it much more. 🙂

What do you think?

